Acre Antiphonary

February 12, 2023

Strathmore Bristol paper 9×12”, Holbein Gouache, Windsor Newton Gold Gouache and Calligraphy Ink

Illumination by myself
Calligraphy and Words by Eamon Grey

Eamon and I had the pleasure of attending the Coronation of Nico and Joan of the Holy Kingdom of Acre.  Acre is a medieval reenactment organization, similar to the SCA but quite a bit smaller.  They are a lovely group of people that we have been able to get to know recently.  At the Coronation we offered up our services as scribes for Acre if they should have the need.  

Mich. Ms. 246 (179v)

We were very happy when Nico asked us if we could do an Award of Honor scroll.  This is an award similar to the SCA’s Award of Arms.  The recipient was their Herald, Lady Kristin.  Not only does she do herald service for the Kingdom but she is also a singer and bard.  Upon learning this I knew exactly what kind of scroll I wanted to do for her, an Antiphonary.  An “antiphonary is so called because it contains, among many other elements, antiphons, which, in general, are short sentences sung or recited before or after a psalm or canticle,” according to the University of Michigan Library.  The antiphonary that we chose was from this library, manuscript 246, folio 179v from 15th century Italy. https://apps.lib.umich.edu/online-exhibits/exhibits/show/singing-the-antiphonary–mich-/item/6510?exhibit=166&page=1672&return=1672

I chose to use a 9×12” paper to fit with the typical scrolls that I’ve seen given by Acre.  I traced and sketched the design. I planned to put the recipients heraldry inside the capital, however we were informed that she did not yet have any. Therefore, I left that area blank do that she can add it when she is ready.

This scroll uses some fun colors, pinks, purples and turquoise, which are not as common in medieval manuscripts as reds, blues and yellows. This was part of why I chose this antiphonary specifically.  I started with the pink, then moved on to purple, turquoise, green and gold.  Once the solid colors were down I did the shadows, highlights and white work.  Lastly I did the outlining of the gold and the small brown stems.  

I added the red music bars and music notes with a calligraphy pen and ink.  Eamon wrote the words and did the calligraphy.  

We were both very happy to create this scroll for Acre and hope to make more for them in the future.  

Leave a comment